Metro Atlanta and North Georgia Underage DUI Attorney
The Dickerson Firm – DUI and Drug Defense Attorneys Serving Atlanta, Marietta, Canton, and the North Georgia Mountains
The Dickerson Firm – DUI and Drug Defense Attorneys is your DUI firm whether you are facing a standard DUI charge or an underage DUI charge. The firm is dedicated to working on all the DUI cases their clients bring to them throughout Atlanta, Canton, and Marietta. Speak with one of our DUI and Drug Crime attorneys to resolve your DUI case in metro Atlanta with a lawyer who understands.
What is Georgia's Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limit?
It is illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a moving vehicle anywhere in the state of Georgia with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of.08% or more. For drivers under 21 years old, the BAC threshold is much lower at .02%.
Georgia's Implied Consent Laws
Georgia has implied consent laws that automatically assume a driver’s submission to state administered chemical tests of blood, breath, urine, or other bodily substances for the purpose of determining the influence of alcohol or drugs. Underage drivers who refuse the test will have their licenses suspended for a minimum of 1 year. Refusal to submit to blood or urine testing may also be offered into evidence against the individual at trial. Note that underage drivers who refuse chemical testing may still incur a DUI-less-safe charge, which criminalizes driving while impaired to the extent that it is less safe for an individual to drive, regardless of age.
What are the Penalties for an Underage DUI?
If you are convicted of an Underage DUI, you could be facing the following penalties:
- A first-offense DUI - is a misdemeanor with fines from $300-$1,000 for a first-time offense, 24 hours to 12 months in jail, and a minimum of 20 hours of community service. Underage drivers convicted of a per se DUI are required to complete their community service within 60 days of sentencing. Note that Georgia law provides some special sentencing for underage DUI offenders. If the judge allows it, the first-time underage DUI offender can serve any required jail time on the weekends or during non-working hours.
- A second DUI conviction - within a 10-year period is a misdemeanor carrying $600-$1,000 in fines, 72 hours to 12 months jail time, and at least 30 days of community service.
- A third DUI conviction - within a 10-year period is a “high and aggravated” misdemeanor leading to $1,000-$5,000 in fines, 15 days to 12 months in jail, and at least 30 days of community service.
- In general, a fourth DUI conviction - within a 10-year period is a high and aggravated misdemeanor that carries $1,000-$5,000 in fines, 90 days to 5 years imprisonment, and at least 60 days of community service.
How Long Will Your License Be Suspended for an Underage DUI?
Underage drivers convicted of DUI will lose their driver’s license for a minimum of 6 months with no special work or school permit available. Suspensions for multiple offenders can last anywhere from 18 months to 5 years. The length of the suspension and the requirements for reinstatement vary based on the defendant’s driving history and the offense for which they were suspended.
Also note that all DUI offenders, including underage drivers, are required to complete a “DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program,” and a clinical evaluation for alcohol and drug dependency.
Looking for Legal Support? Call (678) 487-5728.
If you or your child are facing underage DUI charges in Georgia, contact a lawyer immediately to represent you in court. The Dickerson Firm – DUI and Drug Defense Attorneys has handled numerous DUIs throughout Atlanta, Kennesaw, and Marietta, and they can put their knowledge to use in your or your child’s defense.
Contact The Dickerson Firm – DUI and Drug Defense Attorneys to schedule your free initial consultation today. Call (678) 487-5728 or submit an online contact form here.
Backed by Hundreds of Successful Victories
Alpharetta Under 21 DUI-Per Se Dismissed
Bartow County DUI-Per Se Not Guilty
Bartow County Felony Obstruction Not Guilty
Cherokee County DUI-Less Safe Not Guilty
City of Atlanta DUI-Per Se DUI Charge Dismissed
Cobb County DUI-Less Safe Dismissed
Cobb County DUI-Less Safe Dismissed
Cobb County DUI-Less Safe & Hit and Run Both Charges Dismissed
Cobb County DUI-Per Se Reduced to Reckless Driving
Cobb County DUI-Per Se and Possession of Marijuana All Charges Dismissed