You Must Act Within 30 Days of a Cherokee County DUI Arrest to Save Your Driver's License
An arrest for DUI in Cherokee County can have significant legal consequences before you ever even make your first court appearance thanks to Georgia's "Implied Consent" law. Implied consent is the legal concept that any person operating a motor vehicle in Georgia is deemed to have consented to a chemical test of their blood, breath, urine, or other bodily substance for the purpose of determining if they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If a person refuses to submit to the chemical test, or if the person submits to a test that shows a blood alcohol content over .08, the Georgia Department of Driver Services can suspend the person's driver's license for one year, regardless of the outcome of the criminal prosecution. If your license is suspended for refusing a chemical test, the license suspension is a "hard" suspension, meaning that you are not eligible for a provisional permit to allow you to drive to work. If you have been arrested for DUI in Cherokee County, it is imperative that you hire a Cherokee County DUI lawyer as soon as possible. You only have thirty days to act to save your license. The DUI Attorneys at The Dickerson Firm limit their practice exclusively to defending people accused of DUI and drug-related crimes. We fight to save your drivers' license, help you avoid jail, and help you avoid a DUI conviction.
Contact Us Below for a Free Consultation
Top Rated Cherokee County DUI Lawyer
The Dickerson Firm is the only law firm in Cherokee County dedicated exclusively to DUI and VGCSA defense. We are not general practice attorneys who take on all types of cases ranging from bankruptcy to family law. We dedicate all of our time to DUI and drug crime defense because we strive to be the best at what we do, and we believe that a jack of all trades can be a master of none. Our dedication to our narrow practice area has earned us accolades from clients and peers alike. We have maintained a perfect 10.0 rating on the lawyer rating site Justia for 5 consecutive years, a perfect 5 star rating on the lawyer rating site AVVO for 8 consecutive years, and we also maintain a cumulative Google rating of 4.8 stars. We have also been named one of the top 100 DUI attorneys in the nation by The National Trial Lawyers Assocaition, and in 2021 we were named "Best in Georgia" by the Georgia Business Journal. While we are honored by the awards we have received, we are most proud of our results, which speak for themselves.
Can a Cherokee County DUI Lawyer Help Me Avoid Jail?
Although the Georgia DUI Statute provides for mandatory jail time for even a first DUI conviction, a skilled and creative Cherokee County DUI Lawyer can often help you avoid jail time, even if you are convicted of the DUI charge. O.C.G.A..40-6-391 provides for a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days for a first DUI conviction. However, the judge can choose to suspend all of the jail time for a DUI-Less Safe charge, and can "suspend, stay, or probate all but 24 hours of any term of imprisonment" for a DUI-Per Se charge. In Cherokee County, it is often possible to avoid jail time on even the most challenging DUI-Per Se charges by negotiating a plea to the lesser charge of DUI-Less Safe. Although our goal in every Cherokee County DUI case is to avoid a DUI Conviction, many clients wish to avoid the risk of trial if they can avoid jail and avoid a hard suspension of their driver's license. Prosecutors in Cherokee County are particularly aggressive in their prosecution of DUI charges, and the judges in Cherokee County take DUI charges seriously. It is imperative that you have an experienced DUI lawyer if you hope to have any chance of beating your DUI charge and avoiding jail time. Contact us at 678-444-4280 or use the form below to schedule a free consultation with one of our top rated Cherokee County DUI lawyers.